BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

We’ve got a lot going on in this round-up, with some pricy Japanese watches, our latest review of the Apple Watch, and our picks for ways to keep your watches safe while traveling. To kick things off, we will be taking a look at Casio’s bold limited edition MRGG1000HT Hammer Tone watch, which has been decorated with an ancient Japanese craft called tsuiki. Next, we turn our attention to another Japanese watch giant – Seiko. We’ll take an in-depth look at their magnificent Credor Fugaku Tourbillon watch, which was announced recently at Baselworld 2016; and also investigate the amazing finishing on Grand Seiko watches. Speaking of in-depth, we have our third installment of our Apple Watch review, one full year in.

We will also be touching on the subject of vintage-inspired dive watches. Vintage-inspired dive watches are very popular amongst watch lovers and collectors right now, and we will be discussing this topic by comparing three of the most popular vintage-inspired dive watches from Longines, Oris, and Tudor. Finally, we will wrap things up with a visit to the Vallée de Joux, home of the great Philippe Dufour. In this interview, he talks about his beginnings and the difficulties of being an independent watchmaker.

1. Casio G-Shock MRGG1000HT Hammer Tone $6,200 Limited Edition Watch Hands-On

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

What you are looking at here is a $6,200 Casio G-Shock. I’ll admit it, it’s a little nuts, but it’s also very cool. Like most other G-Shocks, it’s highly resistant to shock, waterproof to 200 meters, and is also powered by light. But unlike other G-Shocks, it’s has been thoroughly decorated using an age-old Japanese technique called tsuiki. Tsuiki is a Japanese craft where a pattern is created using a hammer. It’s incredibly labor-intensive and takes a master with a keen eye and a steady hand. If you appreciate Japanese craft and culture, take a look at this unique watch by hitting the link below.

Source: aBlogtoWatch

2. Sinn 910 Anniversary Limited Edition Split Second Chronograph Hands-On

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

German watch brand Sinn may not enjoy a history as long as some of its compatriot counterparts, but that hasn’t stopped them from celebrating their 55th anniversary in a big way. The Sinn 910 Anniversary Limited Edition Split Second Chronograph watch is one of the most handsome watches we saw at Baselworld this year, and is, as its name suggests, a limited edition watch (only 300 pieces) created to celebrate Sinn’s 55th anniversary. It packs vintage-inspired good looks with a split-second chronograph complication, all at a price point that’s very attractive. Don’t be surprised if this sells out quickly.

Source: aBlogtoWatch

3. Watches & $200,000 Stolen Aboard Flight So We Suggest Watch Case Safes For Protection During Travel

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

Many watch lovers I know travel with more than one watch. Some even bring along multiple straps to change during their trips. Now, traveling with watches can be tricky. Carrying it on board with you is probably a safer and wiser option, but this recent news should serve as a warning that doing so still isn’t enough. You also need to make sure that the watches cannot be easily accessed as unscrupulous travelers can still nick your watches if you aren’t paying attention. Here are some traveling watch cases that you can consider for your next trip.

Source: aBlogtoWatch

4. Tiffany & Co. CT60 Dual Time Watch Hands-On Debut

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

Tiffany & Co. marked its return to watches in a big way last year with the launch of their CT60 collection. For 2016, the CT60 collection is growing bigger with the addition of the new CT60 Dual Time watch. As you might have guessed, the CT60 Dual Time watch features a dual-time complication which lets the wearer easily keep track of time in two timezones. It’s a really handsome piece that I think will be popular with frequent travelers who are looking for a GMT watch that is distinctive and unique.

Source: aBlogtoWatch

5. Apple Watch Review Chapter 3: One Year After

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

It’s been a year since the Apple Watch debuted to the world. Say what you want about it, but it’s presently the best-selling smartwatch in the world and generates billions of dollars in revenue for Apple. One year on, our founder and Editor-in-Chief Ariel weighs in with his thoughts about the Apple Watch and smartwatches in general.

Source: aBlogtoWatch

6. Why I Won’t Tell You What Watch To Buy

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

If only I had a penny for all the times that I get asked, “What watch should I buy?” I could easily buy my dream watch. If you think about it, it’s actually quite amusing. Most of you won’t go on forums to ask others if you should get that t-shirt you just saw at the mall – and yet when it comes to watches, we go to blogs, forums, Facebook, Instagram and more to seek the opinions of strangers we never met. This article neatly sums up the reasons why buying a watch should be a personal decision that you undertake on your own.

Source: aBlogtoWatch

1. Comparative Review – 3 affordable & vintage-inspired dive watches from Tudor, Oris, & Longines

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

If you haven’t already noticed, vintage-inspired watches, especially dive watches, are all the rage now. There are many to choose from, but three very popular models right now are the Tudor Heritage Black Bay, Oris Divers Sixty Five, and the Longines Legend Diver. Of the three, the Longines Legend Diver is actually the oldest and was first released in 2009. However, it is the Tudor Heritage Black Bay that really made this genre of watches so popular right now. And banking on the popularity of such watches and its rich heritage of dive watches is Oris with the Divers Sixty Five, which is the newest of the trio. Won’t it be interesting to see how they match up against each other? Wonder no more.

Source: Monochrome

2. Seiko’s Credor Fugaku Tourbillon: A Masterpiece Of Horological Art

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

Much has been said and written about Seiko’s affordable mechanical and quartz pieces. They are often regarded as some of the best bang-for-your-buck watches that you can buy, and it’s hard to argue against that. However, not enough has been said and written about Seiko’s higher-end offerings from Grand Seiko and Credor. Hopefully that will change with this year’s Credor Fugaku Tourbillon. As you can see from the photos, it’s a pretty impressive piece of work. I think the best way to describe it is that it is thoroughly artistic and unmistakably Japanese in its design and construction. Take a closer look at this masterpiece by hitting the link below.

Source: Quill and Pad

3. Grand Seiko finishing really so great?

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

In light of the magnificent Seiko Credor Fugaku Tourbillon watch that you see above, I want to draw your attention to Seiko’s more affordable high-end offerings from its Grand Seiko collection. We have often said that the finishing on a Grand Seiko watch is unmatched at its price point and that it punches well above its weight. But that’s just words, here are some incredible macro photos of Grand Seiko watches to back it up. Be prepared to pick your jaws up from the floor.

Source: Watchuseek

4. Seiko Museum Visit and Interview with Mr Hattori

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

If you ever find yourself in Tokyo, the Seiko Museum is an attraction that is not to be missed. Not that far away from the towering Tokyo Skytree Tower, the museum houses a large collection of vintage clocks and watches from not only Seiko, but also from other brands and Japan’s past. In this article, you’ll find some highlights from the museum. And highlights from the museum aside, there’s also an interview with Seiko CEO, Mr. Hattori, who talks about his strategy for Seiko’s high-end Grand Seiko collection and also about the perception of Swiss-made versus Japanese-made watches.

Source: Fratellowatches

5. An interview with Philippe Dufour

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends May 13, 2016 ABTW Round-Ups

What else can be said about Philippe Dufour? Widely regarded to be one of top independent watchmakers in the world, the man operates out of a small, unassuming-looking house in Le Soliat in the Vallée de Joux. In this interview, Dufour shares his thoughts about the industry, talks about the difficulties of being an independent watchmaker, and shows us some of the watches that he has made.

Source: Watch Life

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply